Tags

, , , , , , , ,


This weekend pleased me with the discovery of a nice interior/furniture shop in Surry Hills, Sydney: Orson&Blake.

While sipping my favourite caramel latte in the cafe so organically embedded into the shop space, I was thinking about changes retail industry is facing at the moment. With the Internet widespread customers become more knowledgeable and more flexible in their choice of goods and to attract/please us, consumers, retailers (especially boutique ones) tend to diversify our shopping experience and stand out. More often I see small cafes placed into shops and visa versa…

In addition to a nice cafe, guys at Orson&Blake decided to mix interior and cloths shopping. Even though interior related stuff dominates, customer may definitely be attracted by a couple of racks with clothes… women clothes only… of course:)) I am not sure whether this kind of diversification is beneficial for the company, but it is definitely something interesting to observe.

To be honest, I think that the company did a great job to stand out with a choice of interior objects and fabrics on offer. I loved almost everything I saw there: choice of chairs and sofas, striking upholstery, amazing shapes of a table lamps, art works and interior objects.

Look at that stool from the picture above (on the left) – the base reminds me about medieval lanterns – really interesting. There’s a picture of the same stools from the website to have a closer look:

Pay attention to the mustard stools in the back as well:

Just a sample of other fabrics available for upholstery:

With all these shapes and patterns it seems that the look of your home is only limited by your imagination … well and budget too:)) This shop is quite pricey… I believe there are always alternatives in the market.

The cafe is just next to the shopping floor: